Bom

By Bom

A White Rose for Remembrance

Both my mum and dad's birthdays were in mid-February, so each year I buy a bouquet of flowers for the house in remembrance of them. This beautiful white rose was part of the mixed bouquet and when I looked up the symbolism of rose colours, one of the meanings for a white rose is remembrance, so I thought that was appropriate. I have to buy them slightly early else all I would be able to get in the shops would be red roses for Valentine's day!

It does seem incredible that mum died 24 years and dad 21 years ago. No matter how much time passes, I still know exactly what they'd have thought about things.  Mum would have loved the fact that I've retired so early, dad would not understand it at all!  They would both have been very supportive of me getting back into photography, but mum would have loved blipfoto, whereas dad would have absolutely hated it!!!  

"Pleasure is the flower that passes; remembrance, the lasting perfume"

Jean de Boufflers

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.