Good Well Hunting

Woodwell, Silverdale

A lovely holy well elf told me about this wonderful spot earlier this week and so as I was heading down this way I had to seek it out. Although I know the area, I had never been here before so thanks to freespiral's holy well month I have again found somewhere new that I have passed nearby several times before. It is a magical spot and a liverwort heaven ... it would be good to be there when the spores are out.
There are lots of sections to this well ... the water filters through the limestone to the rock basin in the extra and then flows into an elongated section (second extra) which has a narrow entrance and then there is the large well that you can see in the foreground of the main blip. I haven't found much out about it other than it was an important water source for Silverdale, used for watering cattle, and as the community water supply/place for laundry. So I'm not sure it counts as a holy well although suspect it has had ancient significance.

There are several wells in the area and I tried to find Cove Well but had no luck so got a shot of the estuary as the sun was going down instead (last extra). It was very still.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.