On Sandy Beach - Motunau

On the way home from Christchurch to Blenheim I visited Motunau Beach. This is a place I have often wondered about every time I have passed the intersection to the beach off State Highway One. So today was the day to take a look. There is a lovely winding hilly road out to the coast. Once at the beach I checked out the river mouth and scrambled along a stony section of seashore. I looked around the side of a bluff and spotted a wide sandy beach. I would never have known it was there if I had not gone exploring. So I got back into the car and checked out the roads giving access to this secret beach. There was only foot access from the top of the cliffs. People have to carry their picnic gear, chairs, beach toys and surf boards down the track to the beach. It is very wide and flat and sandy and is a low tide beach only. Families picnicking down on the sands were locals, holiday home owners. They said this beach was a well-kept secret. The distinctive small island offshore gives the location away. It is Motunau Island and is now a nature reserve. I will definitely return to this spot in the future.... one of North Canterbury's best kept secrets.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.