Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Mo Town

I spent a considerable portion of today in the company of this fine gentleman. Which, as always, was time well spent.

Whereas I grew up on the Sussex coast, he grew up in Iran and arrived in Liverpool following spells living in Athens and Barcelona. I must have known him for a decade or more and, given our respective career paths, I guess we were always destined to meet eventually.

He's called Mo and he's worked in housing and community development for as long as I've known him and, most recently, he's been working to link local Black, Asian, minority ethnic and refugee communities into mental health services - and trying to make sure that those services are responsive to the needs of potential users from all backgrounds.

Mo is loved and respected by all of us who know him. He's brilliant at his job, a fount of knowledge on all kinds of topics, fun to be with, has a wicked sense of humour, gives great hugs and has one of the biggest hearts of anyone I know. Fact.

(I'm sure he'd also want you to notice how extremely good looking he is. I had to use the special 'handsome' setting on my camera to capture this shot! Or, at least, that's what I told him...)

I'm glad I live in Mo Town.

Speaking of which... This is for Mo www.youtube.com/watch?v=c56Sj7kMbLk

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.