A Writer's Life

By Awriterslife

Mysteries

Toddlers can be strange. Olivier had a high fever all night. Normally, I would have kept him home. But I had a solo-parenting problem: I had to get to work to set up a few things. I didn't have a problem taking him with me, but I had the car, not the car seat. So I had to go get the car seat. I wracked my brain trying to figure out how to do it, but there was no way around it: he had to go to daycare while i drove to get the car seat, install it and returned. Once there, though, he was top shape. He's done that a few times: bad night, and then once there, happy and healthy. His fever only returned at bedtime.

Meanwhile, I ran some errands, went into work, and came home to assemble some IKEA things. Once home, he liked what I had done, and even helped me finish off a chair. Yep: 18 months old and good with an Allen key. He spent maybe 20 minutes trying to work the key. Did you say adorable?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.