St Valentine's Day

St Valentine's Day!
Yes, I know, another day for the cash tills in Hallmark Cards, Thornton's Chocolates Shops and Florists everywhere to chink with the pennies of punters who are expected to do the decent thing for their partners, lest they be thought of less than romantic.
I suspect that the ladies need the affirmation more than the men, but I may be wrong.

I do know from the experience of having 5 daughters that the teenage girls go through agonies over the sending of cards, and the fevered excitement of getting one from some anonymous boy. I have a feeling that the lads are not overly bothered about declaring a romantic interest in a girl, or maybe it is that they just don't tell their mothers?

In the mists of time I can remember the bitter disappointment of my eldest daughter, then a susceptible young teenager, when an unsigned St Valentine's Day card arrived heralding much expectation, only to discover weeks later it had been sent by her spinster great aunt.

Nowadays it seems perfectly acceptable to send signed cards to younger family members, and it's always de facto that partners autograph their cards to each other, thus preventing any misplaced fantasies.

I have been rewarded with two boxes of chocolates which I'm sure you understand will be shared with His Lordship. He on the other hand has been handsomely rewarded by me with a box of Turkish Delight which I don't like.

.....And to think it is only a fortnight until Mother's Day in Britain. My cup may yet runneth over!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.