Better than a piece of cardboard.

Everyone in the Western world must know that it is Valentine's Day.
This morning Mrs. K. Received her 56th Valentine Card from me. There it was on her breakfast bowl in the traditional red envelope. But whats this? My bowl is empty. Does she not love me anymore? Do I have to go somewhere else for some affection?

Then she comes into the dining room with a smile and tells me that, no she had not forgotten. Yesterday she went into the shop and looked at all these pieces of cardboard at £2.99 each. So she decided that I would be taken to the coffee shop this morning for a big piece of cream cake and that instead of having to share it I could have the whole piece. Now that is a sign of continued love and devotion.

In any case I have since discovered that the day first became associated with courtly love in the 14th.century partly through the writings of Chaucer. It was then that it became the done thing to send flowers, cards or confectionery to someone you love. So we follow a good tradition and I think I will ask for the same next year.

I do hope you have someone who thinks you are special.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.