Enough Nonsense

No nonsense today. Interesting facts! It can chuck it down as much as it wants. And its want is clearly quite considerable.
I was amused by a couplet written in praise of Edward Montagu after he'd taken some Spanish treasure. Aye .

With these returns victorious Montagu
With laurels in his hand, and half Peru.

Not an easy rhyme. But here is an interesting thing - I found that George Downing, yes indeed, the man who gave Downing street its name, was MP for Edinburgh in the 1650s. I was stunned, as like every schoolboy I knew that the Scottish Parliament sat till 1707. It seems, not so. From 1654 till the end of the decade, Cromwell established a succession of Protectorate Parliaments across whatever we were called. Isn't that amazing.
Right, time for tea. I'm cheering myself up by boiling an egg to have with my oily fish. Not that I'm down. Despite the lumbago and trenchfoot, I have a lot to be thankful for. Though if one of the chums dropped me a text I think a pint of beer would be most welcome.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.