Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Threatening...

After a very busy day yesterday, I felt quite drained this morning, and pottered around, identifying a few specimens and entering the Swinderby records into MapMate.  

Towards the end of the afternoon some of my energy had returned and, despite the freezing temperatures, I decided a walk was in order. I wanted somewhere sheltered from the north wind, so decided to head along Castor Splash, which is largely sheltered by a large row of poplars. I was amazed to see at least fourteen red kites congregating over the poplars, flapping lazily around, sometimes very low. Of course I hadn't taken my 300mm lens!

Once I got into my stride I didn't want to stop, and ended up walking down to the River Nene and looping back along its edge. I saw this shower cloud developing in the distance and did wonder whether I should turn back, but luckily it remained to the west and I stayed perfectly dry. However, it did produce some very dramatic effects, though ten minutes after this was taken it was all sunshine and light again (see extra). 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.