Photo journal of an idler

By idlersdream

My two latest vinyl purchases.

Our Favourite Shop by The Style Council.  Weller is one of my musical heros, a lot of hardcore Jam fans hated this period of his work, but I like the fact he left everything behind and started showing other things he was being influenced by.  This is the second Style Council album and IMO, their best.

Feelin by The La's - what a great pop song, The La's were led by the maverick/genius/drug addled Lee Mavers.  The relased only one album, 1990's self titled masterpiece (probably my favourite album of all time, well at least one of them!).  Due to Mavers' drug issues, they split shortly after this and he's never released any other music as far as I know.  They did get back together around 10 years ago to play some festivals, but no new tracks were recorded.  John Power of the band went onto have success in the 90's with his band Cast (who are also now back together), and also released some solo work which I very much like.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.