Breathe In And Out...

By ScotNatureBoy

Out of his skull!

I spent today at Glasgow University Zoology Department again, for day two of the Freshwater Biological Association's annual meeting. That gave me another opportunity, after last night's spider-related picture, to take a zoologically-related photo in the zoology museum. I spotted this skull yesterday and it took me a few minutes to work out what it was. It is the amazing, betusked, enormous skull of a hippopotamus. Imagine its huge mouth gaping open and it becomes a bit of a nightmare vision! For all their sometimes comedic portrayal in cartoons and adverts (and that BBC1 inter-programme film of swimming hippos), they are big, dangerous animals. If memory serves me right, hippos kill more people than crocodiles in Africa.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.