NewDelftBlue

By hjarald

Hitchcock's Birds

Remember Hitchcock's film with the scary birds? Well to pilots these birds - or even tiny sparrows - are frightfully scary too as they can make a plane drop out of the sky if they come into the turbine.

Therefore Rotterdam / The Hague Airport, despite being a smaller airport in the Netherlands employs its own falconer. 

Every time a big plane is due to take off or land the falcon is set loose to fly circles over the landing strip making all other birds flee the area.

A pretty old school solution, but hey… it's damn effective!

I once shot my own pictures of the Falconer when he showed me around the tarmac, but I seem to have lost those photo's in my computer crash last year, so I added someone else's photo in the extra.

info: Newdelftblue by Hjar

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.