Further Afield....

I had a plan in mind today for my walk. And it worked out beautifully! Rather than just confine myself to the flat walk around the lake I thought I'd put some height into the mix. It didn't mean travelling any further afield, just walking further around the Trentham Estate.

So I started along the lake but then left main route and headed up towards the Duke of Sutherland monument. There's quite a view from the top - see the extra. This view over Stoke-on-Trent may have been very different in the height of the pottery industry. In fact you may have seen very little due to the smoke ffrom the kilns.

I then continued into Kings Wood, which skirts around the Monkey Forest, and back down towards the entrance to the complex.

It was a great 2 hour leg stretcher with a couple of good ups to get the heart and lungs going. I really must do this route more often. I hardly saw anyone else, which is another good reason to do it again -  a little bit of solitude is what I some times need!

The weather was beautiful too, again another sunny but cold day. This lone tree was just around the back of the Monkey Forest.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.