Maisiebeth

By Maisiebeth

Promise not to laugh!

So I did it and here is the pic to prove it. Before you comment on the fact that I look like I have my lunch squirrelled away in those cheeks, let me mention tight fitting googles, 120mph winds and G force!

Due to technical problems we had an hours delay and we all sat around the tube watching other people flying. The fact that they were all young and tiny did nothing for my confidence and it did cross my mind that there might not be enough wind to actually lift me off the floor! (The man seated behind my feet seems surprised that I got airborne too) At that point, if they said that sorry they had to cancel, I would have cheered! But they didn't so we got togged up and went for it.

Assume the position, lean into the tube and let the wind do the rest.

The manic and near hysterical expression is because this hurts. My back is not designed to bend in that direction and the handsome young man (think Sam Winchester for all you Supernatural watchers) keeps throwing me around the goldfish bowl. He kept signalling me to relax. Not much chance of that!
Still I did my 2 flights and actually did the extra one where you are spun round and taken to the very top of the tube, twice. Couldn't walk in a straight line for a moment or two when I landed tho.

So, am I glad I did it. Yes. Will I do it again. No. An experience, but not as much fun as the zipwire, which I would definitely do again.

So daft or dangerous activity for February? Check.
March? Bring it on!

Best part of the day, Maisie, who did it also, saying that I was cooler than all the other parents there because they all sat round watching their kids rather than going in with them. High praise indeed from a teenager!

Dramatic and Dangerous Places to Photograph for the Terminally Unfit and Navigationally Challenged

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.