The best sound in the world...

hearing this wee man laughing with sheer joy as his Mum tickled him.

The worst sound in the world was a few hours later, when he mournfully declared that he didn't feel well and he clearly wasn't.

It's been a day of contrasts, in terms of mood, activity, wellness.  We've been to the farm and fed the baby goats.  Had a picnic in the park, played on the swings, climbed really well on different pieces of playground 'furniture'.  There was a nap for both boys early afternoon and then we went out again to the woods, played chase, hide and seek and then walked up and down the steepest (and frankly most enormous) set of steps I think I have ever climbed.  Precious soft toy - "bunny" - was handed to me for safe keeping (serious responsibility...bunny had been washed that morning AND it is D's favourite).  I took my role seriously - bunny was put into my jacket and was kept safe and toasty!

Home for sofa time and then tea.  Bacon and parsnips...wolfed down in short order.

Then it was sofa snuggles - J with his Mum, D with me.  To be honest, it was the high spot of my day - although I get hugs, kisses blown at me and lovely hand holding, it is rare to receive extended snuggles.  So you can imagine my delight at an hour of cuddles.  So lovely - a reminder though that I miss snuggles with James.  Probably not cool for a nearly 16 year old to give his mum cuddles!!!

Although J has gone to bed unwell, and it has been hard to watch him struggling at times today, it has been a good day with advantage fully made of the glorious sunshine (it was freezing, but that's what hats and coats are for!!!).  Fingers crossed for decent weather tomorrow as well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.