kartman996

By kartman996

Inspiration

At the beginning of this month, I transitioned from misdemeanor domestic violence cases to a general felony caseload. It was hard to leave my DV cases - I have a passion for that particular type of case - but felonies are of course more serious and it was an opportunity I could not pass up. 

That said, the transition has been hard. I went from feeling confident and competent to feeling like I have no idea at all what I am doing. 

When I left, I also left my four law student interns that I had spent a lot of time with, training them and helping them as they finish up law school and transition into becoming lawyers. All four of them are incredibly bright and gifted young women and I already miss them terribly. They gave me a beautiful gift last week - a little box with a year's worth of inspirational quotes. It touched me so much, and I know they are right: things will get better with time. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.