fototherapy

By GirlKojak

Award Winner

Bridges become frames for looking at the world around us.
(Bruce Jackson)


I searched for quotes about bridges, and thought that was quite a good one for photographers.

As I was kneeling on the wet ground taking this shot of Kingsgate Bridge in Durham I had a strange feeling of deja vu. I'm afraid I chuckle every time I walk over this bridge. There are two plaques just to the right of this view - one is a 'Civic Trust Award' (1965) and the other is a 'Mature Concrete Structures Award' (1993) awarded by the Concrete Society. It amuses me as I don't particularly find it attractive (well, it is made of concrete), but apparently it is very highly regarded in design/architecture circles.

It has been another day filled with 'grace' (see yesterday's quote). In fact, while taking this I got soaked in grace right to my undies! I finally gave in and bought a cheap pack-a-mac today having lost my more expensive version somehow, but I'm not sure it'll stand up to the kind of grace we've had over the last couple of days!

Apparently concrete isn't necessary for building bridges. Maybe Ove Arup should have taken advice from these ladies. I'm only glad he didn't install a bridge keeper! ;o)



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.