Life from a City

By LeggeAngie

Selby Abbey

It was chucking it down this morning, and forecast to rain all day. I couldn't bear the idea of staying in, so, after some thought, I decided to visit Selby. Why? Because I've never been. Which seems a good enough reason to go in my book.

Parking was easy, although the sign made me chuckle. 50p for 1 hour, £1 for 2 hours, or £5.40 for over 2 hours. Really? Why would you not return to the car at 2 hours and not just put in another £1?

Anyway - I wandered along the old shopping area (Micklegate) and then headed to the Abbey. Its a beautiful building, and very imposing. There are some lovely stained glass windows, although I was over half way round before I managed to sort the focusing on my camera. 

This particular shot was taken at the beginning, and I was sticking to the black and white theme of the week. It was raining, so there is a drop on the camera, but I liked the layering of shades in the picture. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.