Capture

A gusty nor’wester messed up the fine frost cloth I arrange in the greenhouse to protect the plants from the sun and I was sorting it out when I came across a garden orbweb spider out on her web wrapping up a brown blowfly. She was almost done and I could have missed her, since they are nocturnal, except when prey hits the web. Because of the wind the web was dancing about as the canopy flapped. I took several blurry shots to get these. In extras is a top view of the spider.

The garden orbweb spider, Eriophora pustulosus, is the most common found in New Zealand. It originates from Australia and is likely to have self migrated on the wind. The brown blowfly, Calliphora stygia, is also Australian, coming to New Zealand with the early settlers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.