Realgrumpytyke

By Realgrumpytyke

Blipping on film? Need insomnia!

Thank you for all the kind comments on my blip from the old Zeiss Ikon camera and the interest in film. So, rather than putting my developing 'kit' back in the cupboard I thought I'd make it my blip for today.
Apart from the developer (about £4 for half a dozen films but it could be more if reused - I use it once only) and about £11 for the fixer (at least 50 films) everything on the table did not cost me more than £10. I'm a cheapskate so use old plastic drinks bottles, and measuring jugs at 2 for £1 from the pound shop; everything else for very little from a well-known auction site or a car boot sale. Not shown is the dark bag, necessary for getting the film into the developing tank - I think I paid £3 for it. (I doubt I paid more than £5 for the camera I used for my film blip).
As a matter of interest, the large daylight table on which the items are standing I also picked up for less than £10; it would probably have cost well over £200 new.
It was great to be able to blip from film; I showed myself I could blip from film if only I was 'awake' in the evening. Unfortunately, I've always preferred a 'working day' from about 5.30am to 5.30pm and since some health problems a couple of years ago can rarely keep my brain going after about 6.00pm. I did manage to wake up close to midnight yesterday (Wednesday) to take the picture but not to post it.
Of course the really interesting thing is making prints, for which a darkroom is necessary. It's a project for the 2nd bedroom if I ever manage it; I have all the gear, just not the stamina.
Beautiful morning today as I write this (Thursday) so out for the day and hopefully I'll find an interesting blip but it'll be on the digital, though I will take film with me.
I'll hopefully catch up on comments, all of which are really appreciated, later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.