My heart...

...wasn't really into this selfie with the Rooster this morning but he doesn't take no for an answer that boy and perhaps it is that spirit that will get us through the next wee while.

My dad died yesterday.

Having not been well for a while in the end his passing was sudden and unexpected...certainly from my part. He had been in hospital since last Monday they had taken him off the IV drip and was only on antibiotics which could be administered at home. I was thinking they would be talking to us about getting him home.

Mr R, the wee fella, the Rooster and I went to see him at our usual time but he had obviously had a turn just before we arrived and passed while we were there.

I had initially gone in with the wee fella, because of the two visitors per bed rule, he looked to be sleeping but didn't stir when I spoke to him. So there was no conversation with him today.

I keep thinking back to yesterday's chat...it was fine, I showed him some photos on my phone of the washed away roads because of the floods, he was tired...not as interested in that sort of thing as he would normally have been. I asked him what he'd had for lunch, if he'd seen a doctor today on rounds...general chit chat. I didn't think it would be my last chat with him...I suppose I wish it had been more meaningful...but now he is gone...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.