Cygnus

By Cygnus

The Dark Hedges

We're on a mini adventure today! I've wanted to visit the dark hedges for ages. As well as being a very scenic spot of Northern Ireland the hedges found fame in Game of Thrones as 'The King's Road', so are now much photographed.

As soon as we parked and got out of the car I was mesmerised by the beautiful ancient beech trees that make up the former carriage approach to a Manor House called Grace Hill. The drive is now a public road and it is awesome, in the true sense of the word!

The trees were pale and stark on this very cold day, but still so affecting in their wintry beauty. It was difficult to choose a blip, but I liked this mono version. I have put another in the extras of the long-suffering Ards Man, who has driven over one hundred miles round-trip to allow me to take these photos!

We are now ensconced in front of the fire in a lovely wee Inn and I am happy :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.