Christography

By ChrisGroucutt

Stairway (Scareway)

I've been eyeing this shot up for a few months now, and finally had a chance to capture it out without any distractions. It's a marvellously characterful stairway in Ironbridge, and has lots of history for the village.

My own history for this stairway includes an event on one dark Halloween evening a few years ago. We had gone out for a scary ghost story walk with the kids and friends, and when we began walking up this stairway, suddenly a small luminous witch came flying down the stairs, emerging from the tunnel.

It was quickly followed by a madman screaming "I'm sorry, I'm sorry!" and chasing it down the stairs. When it got closer it was more obvious the witch (a doll) was on a very fine zipline, and the man had set it up as a scary prank for his own family, which he had clearly mistaken us for.

The kids were traumatised... and I didn't stop laughing for literally days.

C

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.