Views of my world

By rosamund

Riverside

We visited the Riverside Museum today and everyone had a ball.

I always worry when they renovate museums which I love and frequent as I never think they'll be as good as they used to be (see Kelvingrove for a case in point), however the transformation from transport museum to Riverside museum I think has been excellent.

All our old favourite things were there and presented in much more interesting ways, the wall of cars, velodrome and carousel of boats were particular favourites. There were lots of interactive displays which, for the most part, worked well and the old street which was always a favourite was much better now that you could go in and see inside each of the shops. Like many visitors we missed the old cinema but I liked the diversity of the new displays showing life in general from particular eras with clothes, gadgets, toys and artefacts from various periods in addition to the transport.

Carlos and Noah got excited over the storm trooper, transformers and ZX spectrum 48K while I was gushing over Sindy and her car and Freya was transfixed by the 60's fashions. There truly was something for everyone.

On the way out everyone wanted a shot on the big astroturf seat. For once it was Carlos who sat for a nice family portrait while the kids made faces behind him, usually they're being the serious ones while he sneaks in at the back. I love this photo so much, just look at my fabulous family!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.