Steel & Sand

The steel and the sandstone of the Sydney Harbour Bridge.

The other day ColinParte refereed to one of his journal entries as a blipdoodle, well that word sits very well with me, I like it alot. Tonight I delibrately tried to find a blipdoodle and to be honest down by Sydney Harbour that can be difficult, lovely landscapes, streetscapes, cityscapes, architecture, water, parks... how can I blipdoodle. So a true geek has an app for that! Its called the dictionary.com iPhone app. Interesting definition of "doodle" so to quote "to waste (time) in aimless or foolish activity" and ofcourse the obvious "to draw or scribble idly".

Hmmm scribble, foolish that doesn't really help. Wait a second, I'm standing under the extremely dark undercarriage of the bridge and all I can see is a mass (squiggle) of steel. I know I'll just put the camera on the grass looking up (my alternate blip). oooo a post, pole, sandstone, bridge stander up thingy..... and hence todays foolish and squiggle photo is a blipdoodle... and a harbour blip... hehehe I know its a long bow and tenuous connection, but its my journal (story) and I'm sticking to it.

the LARGE blipdoodle of the SHB

Edit
Perhaps a better definition of blipdoodle is required. My reading of Colin's use of term and my now extensive experience of one blip. Is a blipdoodle is just taking photos with a little craziness and lack of purpose. Just wasting time and memory card space by clicking and shooting objects, scenes, angles and perspectives not previously considered. A pure form of experimentation and fun. If nothing good comes from these efforts than woteva; you were only doodling.

There endith my blipdoodle for today; any further thoughts, extensions or other interpretations welcome.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.