Now and Then

On the left, the first of several glasses of an excellent French rose´, and on the right, a birthday card made for me by my daughter 30 years ago. Little did I know then where I'd be celebrating my 69th!

After yoga mid-afternoon and the usual stop to pick up more library books, Phil and I headed downtown to The Real McCoy Bar & Kitchen, one of our favorite places. Several groups of folks younger than us were already enjoying Friday afternoon happy hour, but we were able to snag a comfortable booth. It's a great place for those who like the "small plates" approach, and the kitchen staff turn out imaginative dishes that reflect the care with which they source their ingredients.

The extra photo shows my choice -- seared weathervane scallops from Alaska on a bed of pea puree, with maple-glazed carrots, little chunks of maple bacon, and delicate dollops of sage butter. It was every bit as good as it looks!

We took the rest of the wine home with us, where we paired it with slices of Mount Bakery's Belgian chocolate truffle cake -- a match made in heaven!

But the "frosting on the cake" was seeing my February 17 Northern Flicker on page 1 of "Popular -- my heartfelt thanks for your generous hearts, stars, and comments!

Blip 1485
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.