Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Sightseeing

A day out being tourists. Katkatkat is down for an event this evening so we decided to make the most of the day. That involved two local stops for coffee this morning at The Pot Place and Upfront Gallery, only a few miles from home.

After lunch we set off for Whitehaven to let Kat see where her Grannie used to live about 20 years ago and where I was born. I wanted to look at the station at the end of my road with a view to getting some future steam train shots. (Today's had been cancelled.)

We then parked the car and went for a walk down the docks, well, not docks anymore, no coal trains, no Marchon freighters from Casablanca, no Quaker Oats factory, a sculpture enhanced marina!

My girls are shocked that we played along the railway lines as children. We were safe enough, we would hear the whistle blowing. Life went very slowly in those days.

Now this is a place I had never walked previously. I think it was gated and private. I think it was Donnan's Fish pier, where the fishing boats landed their catch. Here is The Man following the gulls with his camera.

Off next to The Bransty Arch, a Wetherspoons pub were Kat and I got changed and put on our make-up ready for a family get-together, kindly arranged and funded by DerwentLass. The event was held at The Hunday Manor Hotel near Workington. Very nice and a chance to meet new family members and some I hadn't seen since they were children about 30 years ago.

Thank you so much DerwentLass!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.