Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

On the Metro

Today's concert was at 4:30, so my day was complicated. Lack of sleep last night meant I turned over a few times this morning and didn't get out and about until later than originally planned. It was cloudy and chilly and windy, but still I got the Metro to the Champs Élysées, just to bring back memories of the first time I was in this wonderful city. Cloudy and chilly and windy isn't the best way to revive a memory, but I persevered and had myself a hot chocolate and a pastis before setting off on another mission.

I'd noticed that the 3b tram goes to the Concert hall as well as the Metro, so I set out to go that way, hoping for some interesting city views other than being buried in the Metro hole in the ground. The tram was quick, but the route wasn't especially interesting. Still, it was a change. I was at the concert hall in plenty of time to have a leisurely coffee and gateaux and fruit juice in the café.

The concert was magnificent. Last night was good, but today's concert was utterly amazing. We had three Mendelssohn symphonies; numbers 1, 4 and 5. I wasn't really familiar with no. 1, which he wrote while still a teenager, but it sounded wonderful today. The Fourth ('Italian') was pretty terrific too, but it was the 5th ('Reformation') which was the Jewel of both concerts. Yannick Nézet-Séguin inspired the Chamber Orchestra of Europe to treat us to extraordinary music-making. I could feel the adrenaline pumping at the end and was close to tears of wonder. It was a privilege to be there today.

What to do afterwards? A quick beer in Altitude bar across from the hall allowed the Metro rush to calm down, and then I made my way over to Le Marais for food and drink before heading back to the apartment just after midnight. A fantastic day, despite the weather.

The blip? That's just a sneaky from-the-hip shot on the way to the Champs Élysées of a group of passengers opposite me on the Metro.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.