Realgrumpytyke

By Realgrumpytyke

Pets

I had intended to blip today from the monthly 'open acoustic mike' evening at a local club (the same as that blipped from yesterday) but my new 'recruit' had to opt out as her man was unwell so I didn't go either.
So, I needed an 'emergency' blip and, having neither cat (unfortunately) nor dog I decided on my pets - the old MF folders that are usually on display. Apart from the Mamiya Press/Universals these are the only medium format cameras I have.
The one third from the right is the one used to blip the waterfall a few days back; my favourite is the one in the centre, a similar but older Zeiss Ikon but with a Tessar f/2.8 lens and rangefinder, but it is a little temperamental. I also have a soft spot for the Kodak Junior folder at the left because it has an unusual shutter which does not need cocking. However, it takes 620 film which means respooling a 120 to use it. Even more of a hassle is the baby Kodak at extreme left as that means cutting down a 120 film to 127 size (cigar cutter!).
Following the success of the 'waterfall expedition' on 16th Feb I'm seriously considering getting rid of most of my 35mm cameras now that I've found a digital that I actually enjoy using, reducing from the 30 or so to just two - one SLR and one rangefinder - and concentrating on medium format monochrome. I might be tempted to acquire a 5x4 if I do that!
No care taken for this 'emergency blip' - just normal room lighting hence the fall-off to the right.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.