evolybab

By evolybab

Mono Monday.....Ancestors

As soon as Mrslinda announced the theme for this Mono Monday's challenge, I knew what my blip would be.  I have very few mementos of my family, a couple of watches, a serving spoon and a few photos.
This is one I am particularly fond of and always brings a smile to my face...........it is of my four late aunts, my mother's older sisters,  and I reckon it was taken around 1908.
They are from left to right, Aunt Rosa, Katherine, Florence and Linda.
They are of Irish Italian descent, my Irish grandmother Rosina, brought them up as a single parent as my Italian grandfather Julio, set sail from Southampton on the S.S. St Paul in June 1907, to embark in New York and find employment as a waiter. On his return in 1917, having possibly already contracted TB, he died aged 39, shortly before my mother was born in 1918.
I just love their beautiful outfits, all hand made by my grandmother, a talent I have definitely not inherited :)

Thanks to MrsLinda for this very inspiring challenge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.