Mono Monday - Ancestors - mm109

My Surname and Ancestors go back a longtime, particularly in the forging industry (my family name is Hingley not as my nickname suggests)

Most notably we made the Chain and Anchor on the Titanic, I'd like to think this had no bearing on the ships final outcome.

I was born and bred only 2 miles from the manufacturing site so have very strong and passionate connection with the industry of the Black Country.

My father has spent pretty much all his working life in this industry albeit a bit different now. He has sold forging machines (manual and automated) all around the world and still does his bit for the UK now. I was told by him not to look for a career in this sector as it was a declining industry but he's still doing alright out of it now and promises to retire on a weekly basis.

I'd like to think this chain I have photographed was made in the midlands but I suspect it came from a lot further away!?!?


Thanks to MrsLinda for this month's challenge.

Mr Bo Hingles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.