Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Ancestors

This is my great Grandmother, Anna Eliza.  A copy of a photo found by my cousin when she researched the family tree on my Dad's side years ago.  When I retired my first project was to make a book with all the information about our ancestors for my boys and granddaughters.  Some info I had but I was on Ancestry.com hours.

My cousin found out some interesting things about our ancestors..murder, fights, drunkeness..a name change to avoid the law! 

I talked to my cousin (she lives in Oregon) just this week as a very unusual thing happened.  While looking at the Facebook site for Emma Davis's "A Year with my Camera", I came across a photographer who had posted who had the same last name as my maiden name.  So knowing that there were not that many of us (for some reason most of the children born in 2 generations were girls), I sent a message to her. Of course she is married into the family and lives in a different state but she got some info for me.   I got the names of some of her husband's family and the town where they were from in North Carolina.  Yes,  way back in the early 1800's, my 3 times great grandfather in North Carolina, James and wife had 4 children, Mary, John W, James and Thomas.  John W and Thomas  came to South Carolina, James stayed in North Carolina.  Mary we are not sure. (On another note, the name Mary has been used every generation in my Dad's family.)   So unless we are really wrong, these people that I found are from the brother, James of my 3 times great grandfather.  

It is a small world.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.