Our family moved to Walthamstow when I was young, so growing up this facade was a very prominent feature in my life.
Situated just a few hundred yards from my parents house I passed this virtually every day on my way to school, the shops, swimming etc. 
I always remember looking up at the clock and checking the time.
As I became a teenager and young man I spent many Saturday nights at the dogs where you could get entrance, a drink, and a portion of chips for about £2.
Sadly for me, about 8 years ago a developer bought the Dog track, shut it down and planned to build flats there.
A lot has gone on in those 8 years, the flats aren't yet built but they are an inevitability. 
However the facade is 'listed' and therefore has to remain. It has fallen in to a bad state over the years but a couple of years back funding was obtained to return it to its former glory, complete with a full restoration of the neon lights which really made this building stand out of an evening (seen HERE  ).
This is a bit of a work in progress, and I will get back and picture it when fully restored.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.