MonoMonday: Ancestors

When I was in high school I was fascinated by the old family photos that both sets of my grandparents had--they loved that I was interested so as a result I have quite a few pics of my ancestors that my grandparents gave me over the years. Trying to decide which to use for this challenge was difficult, so I used a small "family tree" in pictures. 
The first pic on the left is myself, my brother, & my mom (she was matron of honor for her sister's wedding). The next is her dad, one of the finest men ever to walk the earth!! Next is his mother, (my great grandmother), and the last is of his mother's parents (my great-great grandparents), Paul and Gina. Paul & Gina were both born in in Vardo, Finnmark, Norway--Paul in 1852 & Gina in 1853. (Their Norwegian names were much longer--they "Americanized" them after they left Norway).They met when Gina worked in Paul's household as a housekeeper & they married in 1876. Three of their children were born in Norway (including my great-grandmother)  & the other 2 were born in the U.S. They emigrated to the US through the port of Philadelphia in 1881 & first settled in the territory of Dakota, but later moved to Minnesota, where my grandpa was born & where many family members still live. (My grandpa's father's side of the family were also from Norway--his dad was born is Oslo)
About a year ago I received a book on Paul and Gina's family history from a cousin of my mom--she'd spent years researching the family history & was able to trace our family, through Gina, back to one "Andrew Davidson Christie" who was born about 1620 in Montrose, Scotland. He left his home in Scotland around 1646 & settled in Bergen, Norway.  It's funny, as after I'd visited Scotland I kept telling my mom how much I'd loved it & I'd  jokingly keep asking her if she was sure we weren't part Scottish--she'd laugh & say she didn't think so, but apparently we are! 
I KNEW that deep down somewhere I must carry a tiny, recessive Scottish gene!!  Yay!   :)))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.