good morning canary

By sk

blind man's buff

I spent the whole day searching for one particular photo - taken on a beach in 1927.  As you can see, I failed to find it. I'm now waist deep in a sea of uncollated papers, photos & albums!

So what to post for mono Monday ancestors... letters from the Admiralty bearing bad news?  A note to say a well done sir, here's a Croix de Guerre for your trouble? Photos taken in the trenches, and in tanks?  I am in no doubt that my ancestors were brave, and scared, loyal, and prepared to fight for and with our European friends again, and again.  So I have chosen instead this rather extraordinary picture taken by my grandfather circa 1949.  He was a great one for fun and games.

He was an active member of TocH and I have found hundreds of pictures of him at meetings.  The family donated a Lamp in memory of my great uncle David who died at the age of 17 when his ship was torpedoed in 1914.  David's last letters home are here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.