Paparazzi 1893

I know I'm breaking the rules somewhat by posting my Mono Monday image on a Tuesday, however I've just realised that the theme was Ancestors and I really want to share this image with my blip buddies.

This is a group of photographers attending a Photographers Convention in Victoria in 1893.  The gentleman in the front row far right is my Great Grandfather George Wall and the dapper fellow sitting next to him is my Great Uncle Mathew Wall.  They had a business called Shadow Katchers and were very prominent in photographic circles at the time.

If you look closely you will notice the words Shadow Katchers running down the back of the cricket back.  Perhaps my Great Grandfather and his brother were ahead of their time and actually sponsored a cricket team.  Just take a look at the size of the camera they were using way back then, just incredible.

Thanks to Mrs Linda for hosting the challenge this month.  This was a wonderful idea for a theme Linda and I hope you'll excuse my tardiness, we've just arrived home after a 1400km drive from Bundaberg.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.