Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

Didn't see a soul

Did all the planning last night, and the forecast was looking good, so today I decided to walk in the western Beacons and climb Fan Llia, Fan Dringarth and Fan Nedd.

Starting off things weren’t looking too promising, the cloud was down on Fan Nedd and by the time I made it to the summit of Fan Llia it was also down there.  They were challenging conditions, so I decided to take a bearing just in case things got worse.  The key thing here was not to panic, but just to put my training into action and remain calm.  It worked!

After climbing those two summits I made my way down to the Sarn Helen Roman road, stopping off at Maen Llia standing stone.  A mystery here, how did the stone get there when the type of stone is not found anywhere near there?  On Midsummer’s Eve the stone walks to the river to drink from it, beat that Stonehenge! HA!

Only the ascent of Fan Nedd left, and so I decided to have some food and tea before taking on the big climb.  There’s something about eating in the outdoors, you taste senses seem different.  Do you know what I mean?

Upon reaching the summit of Fan Nedd the views were stunning, by now the low cloud of the morning had long gone.  Out to the east you could see Pen Y Fan and Corn Du, plus further out east towards the Dragons Back.  To the west you could see Fan Brycheiniog et al.

I stopped at the New Inn, Ystradfelte on the way home for a well-earned pint of shandy.

The best bit about today was the peace and quiet, I didn’t see a soul all day.  Perfect!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.