If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

The lane running towards Ennim

It was another nice day, they have been in singularly short supply of late.  I decided to walk the one of the routes I used while I was doing survey work for the BTO Bird Atlas 2007 - 11.

This route took me mainly across fields until I reached this late.  Coming over the fields I met the farmer who had decided he didn't dare take his 4x4 any further down the fields in case he got stuck.  So I left him "leuken t'stock" (as we Cumbrians say) and continued on my way.

At the lane I turned towards Ennin a large country house which was for over 40 years the home of William Viscount Whitelaw Mrs Thatcher's second in command.  When I reached edge of the tetrad I turned and used the lane and road to return home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.