CharlieBrown

By CharlieBrown

Good Grief 123

Catching moments of light.
I don't know what possessed me to go to work today.
Well, I do but I'm now comatose.
I didn't have the energy not to go because I was overwhelmed by what I would have to do to retrieve a week in which I had a diary rammed full. I had made commitments that I couldn't face re-arranging. I sat very still and approached each bit of the day minimising anything extraneous and keeping focused on precisely what I had to do. When I walked in and was met by my high energy colleague I turned tail, set myself up in my bunker and was resolute, and resigned. I met a moment of light when I took this at the point in the late afternoon when I knew the end was in sight.
It reminded me of the otherworldly feeling I had all day - the sleepless place that had the Carpenters 'Calling Occupants of Interplanetary Craft' drifting through as a constant refrain. I felt very low and lost.
I had come in to work because it was the only thing I knew.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.