Perfect weather

There is no better place to be on a day like today than West Yorkshire. Though very cold, it was gloriously sunny and I  took  15 minutes to go for a quick walk  around Saltaire at lunchtime. Victoria Hall, built by Sir Titus Salt was looking fantastic, against the clear blue sky. I took this from the saltaire website : - Victoria Hall is a grade 2* Listed Building that retains all of its original grandeur, beauty and unique architectural features. Originally built by philanthropist Sir Titus Salt in 1869 as the Victoria Hall and Institute it offered a library, dance hall and lecture theatre, meeting rooms, billiards room and gymnasium. The Institute was built as a centre of recreation, culture and learning and still fulfils the same function to this day. 
It is also the home of  a wonderful Wurlitzer Organ. I must remember to make a note of the dates when it is played. I have seen and heard it a few times and it is really a fantastic experience.

I also felt compelled to photograph this lovely little heart hanging in one of the windows on Titus Street. It is so cute I have put it in extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.