Gavin's Mill

This is what's left of the original early 19th century watermill from which Milngavie gets its name. It was restored in the late 1960s into a tearoom, with a boutique in a small upper section, which changed over the years ending up as a Chinese restaurant and office, but latterly has been lying empty. Such a shame.

My mum and I would often drive out from Glasgow on a Saturday afternoon, sometimes with friends, for coffee here. In fact, we hired the venue for my 21st birthday party, but you can't quite see the plaque in this photo ;-)

On my way home from Tesco (right beside Gavin's Mill) I got stuck behind a bus, which then got stuck behind a 30 mph driver, so I made a slight detour to relieve the boredom and blipped the hills behind Strathblane - see extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.