What did I see today...?

By DaveR

Saturated

Well, it's not your typical rain Blip!

Today started off really nicely and, according to the BBC, the massive rainstorm moving in from the west wasn't meant to hit Cambridge until 10ish - just a bit of light rain before then. So bearing that in mind I packed light in terms of waterproof gear - just the bag cover - after all a bit of rain during rounders wouldn't matter if I had my trek shorts and a sports top on!

So, the BBC had been right the rest of the week.

So rounders began about 7ish and with it came the first little spots of rain, just a bit of moisture and to be honest the kind that makes rounders a bit more fun - it softens the ground and you get some hilarious slips, slides and general merriment. Mark had a great moment in particular when he was nearly still at second and still managed to go flying, as did Fe by throwing the ball too hard at one point!

Post-matches we went to the pub across the river as the rain started in earnest (it was nearly today's Blip, and is the first in my new 'AlterBlips' portfolio - where I shall henceforth put close seconds!). This was not good - as mentioned before I neglected to actually bring some waterproofs.

The cycle home was a mixture of sheer enjoyment - I love cycling in the rain - and absolute lunacy as it came down harder and harder. The best part were a few little flash floods around the drains every now and again - any part of me that wasn't completely soaked became so as I plowed through them!

Now Stef was smarter today (or lazier knackered, to put it another way) and stayed home and helped me by taking this photo at the end. I'd got rid of my shoes at this point (it felt like there were lakes in them) because it turned out most of the water was just trapped in my hiking socks - well, it was too good an opportunity to miss!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.