A Symbol of my Times...

Dickens Tale of Two Cities 1 (DToTC1)
 

"It was the best of times, it was the worst of times, it was the age of wisdom, it was the age of foolishness, it was the epoch of belief, it was the epoch of incredulity, it was the season of light, it was the season of darkness, it was the spring of hope, it was the winter of despair."


Here you have a teacup, saucer, plate, part of a milk jug and bit and pieces of other crockery, most of which is in a very beautiful pattern that I find very beautiful - particularly the flowers inside.  I bought this set before Christmas off an auction site as part of my quest to find beautiful crockery to use at tea parties for those living with dementia and their carers.  Next week I am going to hold a Tea party to raise money for Dementia UK and have decided to use my "new" china so it's all spread out on the table ready to be sorted into some sort of order.  Need to be in advance of myself on this one.


You may be wondering what this has to do with the Dickens Challenge quotation above.  Perhaps I'd better try to explain how some cups and saucers can represent opportunities, hopes and fears.


My life at the moment is incredibly exciting.  I am finding many doors are opening for me and I am becoming able to do things I never dreamt of.  I have spent time today teaching A level students English Literature, I have spent time today talking to a group of clergy about becoming dementia friends, I have spent time today planning what I want to take with me to Iceland, I have spent time today messing about with my camera taking shots of cups and saucers (!), I have spent time talking to and having fun with recently acquired friends at Slimming World, an organisation whose programme has changed my life.
I have new friends in my life who like meeting up, looking at photographs and sharing their knowledge of photography.  I can send messages to dogs in New Zealand and Cornwall and feel perfectly sane about it!  I have the opportunity to do all these things.  It is the best of times.


My life at the moment is extremely challenging.  I worry about my parents who are in their 80s:  my dad is doing well but has tremendous pressure of living with a much-loved wife who is gradually disappearing into dementia.  I worry about how to care for them both and still allow them their dignity and independence and safety.  It breaks my heart sometimes and I have to walk away and cry as I walk home.  Sometimes I swallow the tears and bury them away because I don't want to be weak and vulnerable.  I worry about my sister who has MS and struggles by herself and deserves much more help than she gets from her sons.  So much more than I have ever had to feel responsible for before.  Maybe it's the worst of times, who can say?


The oppositions set up in Dickens' quotation can be seen in so may lives. I see them in mine, I see them around me in this world of ours.  I see wisdom, foolishness, belief, incredulity, light, darkness, hope and despair.  May we all find the strength to have wisdom, belief, light and hope.  


I wish you the best of times...


May your cup overflow with hope and opportunity.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.