Delayed

Today was a fine, cold day. I worked at the kitchen table before heading to Lasswade for a game of squash. My tooth is not sore. All is good.

I was a bit late heading to the airport because Claire was out with the OYT and I was picking Megan up from the bus. But I got parked in good time and got to the terminal 45 minutes before departure.

At security the scanner failed to recognise my boarding pass. "Visual inspection needed" was the message. The visual inspector told me to go back downstairs to the airline desk, where they said "the online boarding passes have been a bit hit and miss today". Great!

"Don't worry, here's a printed boarding pass.  And by the way, there's no hurry, your flight has been delayed by an hour".

Arriving at Norwich, I go for a taxi. Surprisingly there's a man waiting with the name "S Rose" on a board. What a nice touch from the conference organisers.

Five minutes into the journey, a message flashes up on the driver's console "Wrong passenger". Apparently he was waiting for a Stephen Rose, not me. What are the odds? Especially when you consider it was a tiny propellor plane with no more than 60 seats.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.