Anne's Daily Encounters

By dutchdelight

Remembrance of Revolt

It's 75 years ago that the people of Amsterdam realised a full strike on February 25 in 1941 in the city in protest against the Nazi regime that had occupied the country since May 1940 and had started razzia's against the Jewish citizens of the city ~ it turned out to be the only strike realised during that 5 years of war under Nazi rule in Holland and in Europe, I was told.
Here the Dockworker monument that marks this revolt since the early 50-ies of the last century. As the 75th remembrance is another remarkable time King Willem Alexander was present too. His parents Beatrix and Claus were there in 1991 at the 50th anniversary and his grandmama Juliana was here when this monument was placed and his greatgrandmother Queen Wilhelmina was here at the 1st memorial in 1946.

intercalary day now & from my job's place I thank you for your reactions of recent and request  an excuse for my silence... my internet connection at home is out of order since a week and I'm still waiting the repair-man to fix that ~ such patience needed!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.