The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Sun sets

The days are getting longer, the sunsets are getting later, I'm getting home in time to see the sun go down.  This was after a meeting in a sewage works, followed by a visit to the dentist.

After 25 years, a new dentist.  I've been fearing the day would come when JH would retire, he's been so good ever since that Sunday afternoon in late 1991 when I rang him barely able to speak from the pain of a raging abscess.  I was still registered with a dentist in Kent 300 miles away, but JH said I'll see you at the surgery in 20 minutes.  He worked for over 2 hours on that tooth and he saved it, and he's served me well ever since.  The new man is younger than I was when I first met JH.  Dentists like policeman are getting younger all the time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.