Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Welcome

Eight years ago this month I drove from Houston to Portland, hauling everything I owned in my 2003 Saturn with a “Teach Peace” bumper sticker. Exhausted from forty-five years of grading papers and battling migraines, I retired at sixty-two, down-sized to nearly nothing, and headed for a place I picked off the internet. I knew nobody in Portland. I knew only that it rained most of the year but was neither too hot nor too cold, and I could get into subsidized housing. According to the articles I found, it had a good library, good public transportation. It was “progressive,” it had a gay community and a great bookstore. 

I bought myself a new journal, and in the front of it I wrote my dream:

Cool gray skies, a park bench, 
black turtle neck, battered jeans, 
old shoes: I will lean back, arms crossed, 
not having to prove myself, not having
to compete or achieve, anonymous 
and silent in the city of roses.

I arrived, signed for the key to an apartment I had never seen, inflated the airbed, and slept for two days. On the third day I went out for a walk and the plum trees had burst into bloom, something I hadn’t expected, something the internet articles hadn’t mentioned. Plum trees littered the streets with tiny pink petals. Plum trees like a parade of very tall flower girls scattered petals under my weary feet, saying, “Welcome, Kendall. This is your new home.” From then on, it just got better. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.