My Year

By Dunworkin

New Shades

My wife, who doesn't seem to understand the adage, "if it ain't broke, don't fix it", has been pestering me for ages to buy a new pair of sunglasses.

My response has always been, "Why should I?", when the pair I bought, maybe 20 years ago aren't broken. OK, they might have the odd scratch, but that's not the point. I'm quite happy with them.

Anyway, she arrived home yesterday triumphant as Boots have a half price sale on sunglasses and I simply had to get a new pair.

So, to keep the peace, this morning I succumbed. I can see why they are half price. They are labelled at twice the price of anything comparible in the first place, so even at half price they're not quite the bargain I was expecting.

But it's worth it as peace has been maintained.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.