Bahri Sons

A final reminder and souvenir from Delhi. I had to buy a book from Bahri Sons just in order to get one of their wonderful bags.

And the book I bought is rather appropriate - it's a book with a Cook's Tour of some of the world's tricky hotspots. This is appropriate because last night I learned via Facebook that the conference I was due to attend in Istanbul in July is relocating to an as yet undetermined European location, because of security concerns and because of concerns about attacks on academic freedom.

I had, however, already bought the flights, as Mr A is travelling with me, and we were making my presence at the conference part of our summer holiday. I think, therefore, that I will now pass on the conference but maintain my solidarity with Turkey and with the Turkish economy by anyway holidaying in Istanbul (in the same hotel we used in April 2014).

But it's a reminder of the difficult times we live in.

Photos of India are here

And my backblips start here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.