Pictures & Woodwork.

By PeterB

An Unusual chair...... Restoration.

       I acquired this chair from my Brother about this time last year, and I think I have blipped a shot of it then, but with one thing and another I just have not got around to restoring until now.
      I spent several hours today sanding it down to the bare wood ready for re-staining, still needs a bit more yet though.
You will see from the shot that I have sanded the legs and rails (cross pieces between the legs). They are paler in colour.
      I have now sanded the rest of the chair as well now, Still needs a bit more work on it as I will have to turn a 'rail' and insert it between two of the legs.(see extra)
      Once all this is done I will stain it in a Georgian Mahogany dye, leave it to thoroughly dry and then lightly sand with a very fine sand paper, wipe all the dust away and then seal it and polish it.
      I will blip the different stages as I go, so you can see the progress and the final finished chair.
The extra is the sanded legs and underside so far.

Hope you are enjoying your weekend.
Take care.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.